1.2.2 Size and Composition of the Faculty Senate

Fourth paragraph:

The regular Senate term will begin on July 1st June 1st. The standard term of an elected member of the Senate will be four years unless the member is completing the term of another Senator. With a single exception, any Senator who has served two sequential terms is ineligible for reelection until after a full two-year absence from the Senate. The exception is when the Senate Chairperson's extension in office would put them beyond the eight-year mark. In this case, the Chairperson will remain in the Senate until the end of their tenure in office.

1.2.3 Senate Leadership

1.2.3.1 Chairperson of the Senate

The Chairperson of the Senate - as the senior representative of the Faculty and the leader of the Faculty component of the University governance system - shall be a Tenured Associate or Full Professor. The Senate will elect the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson by majority vote from the voting members of the Senate for two-year terms with the possibility of a single two-year extension for the Chairperson. An extension for the Chairperson requires a majority vote of the Senate. During June, the existing Chairperson will hold Senate elections for a new Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson who will take office on July 1st.

Rationale:

Currently, either the newly elected Senate members do not participate in the election of the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson or there is a gap in Senate leadership between when the Senate term begins and when the elections of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson occur.

Therefore, the proposed amendments have two components.

- 1) The regular Senate term will begin a month earlier on June 1^{st} .
- 2) The Senate, including those representatives who began their terms on June 1st, will elect the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson who will take office on July 1st.