## 1.3.2.1 Educational Policy Committee

The committee on educational policy attends to such matters as are referred to it by the Faculty Senate, by college faculties, by faculty regulations, or by the president. The committee is responsible for the study of the university curriculum, long-range academic plans, and undergraduate academic rules and regulations. The committee will make appropriate recommendations to the president and the Faculty Senate.

As needed, the committee advise and assist with the Offices of International Affairs and Study Abroad by: 1) examining proposals, programs, courses, initiatives, and policies pertaining to Study Abroad; 2) develop and implement quality criteria for Study Abroad programs; 3) Ensure alignment between university academic policies and study abroad policies and credit recognition; and consult with faculty in respective colleges on a core of acceptable and available programs that meet the curricular needs of each college. Where needed, the committee may consult with the Director of Study Abroad Programs, the Chair of the Modern Languages and Literature Department, or other relevant program leaders.

The committee consists of nine eleven tenured members of the teaching faculty, the provost, and the dean of each of the four five colleges. If the dean of a college is not present, the associate dean of the respective college may vote in his/her absence. The nine eleven faculty members will serve three-year non-concurrent terms. Three will be elected from the College of Arts and Sciences, three from the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science, two from the College of Business, two from the College of Health, and one from the College of Education. All faculty members may vote in the meetings, but none shall be permitted to vote in absentia or to send a voting delegate.

The Registrar or his/her delegate serves as a non-voting member of the Educational Policy Committee. Three undergraduate students, one from each undergraduate college, shall be non-voting members. Two graduate students, one from the College of Education, shall be elected by the Graduate Student Council to be non-voting members. One of the elected faculty members shall chair the committee. At the final meeting of the spring term, the committee shall elect one of the faculty members as chair-elect for the coming year. Both the chair and the chair-elect take office on July 1. Meetings of the committee shall, upon request to the committee chair, be open to other individuals in the university community. Students, faculty, and administrators who attend under this provision shall be nonvoting listeners, although the chair is empowered to invite them to address the committee. The chair is also empowered to close certain meetings so that only voting members are present to transact committee business. The minutes of the committee are sent to the Provost's Office and posted on the Lehigh University Faculty Senate's website. The committee chairperson or another designated elected member of Ed Pol serves as an ex officio member in Senate Subcommittee on Academic and Student Affairs.